The Wooden Boat Association is pleased to announce that Russell Hurren is the recipient of the inaugural Alan Chinn Award for excellence in boatbuilding.

This is a new award for a member of the Association who has completed a boatbuilding project that shows excellence in the skills of boatbuilding. The award recognizes the contribution made by Alan Chinn to the formation of the WBA and the example he set in the skills of boatbuilding and in assisting members in their boatbuilding projects. 

 The 2019 panel, consisting of Graham Signorini (WBA Committee), Greg Blunt and Peter Batchelor, judged the completed projects of four nominees - Jimmie Baillie, Jack Ellis, Russ Hurren and David O'Dempsey - and interviewed the builders about their work. The winner was announced at the AGM in July. 

The perpetual trophy made by Graham Signorini will be inscribed with the winner's name, and Russ also received a plate to affix to his boat Maude. You can read more about Russ, Maude and the other finalists here and read the judges'comments here.

Member login